Service Dog Programs for Veterans

Programs that serve veterans, including veteran-specific organizations and broader providers accepting veteran applicants.

85Matching providers
42Applications open
68May provide dog
25Owner-training

Alpha Bravo Canine

Pennsylvania · Bucks County, Pennsylvania for owner-train; donated-dog program serves qualifying veterans but is currently paused
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo cost for donated dogs; current owner-train pricing not published on page reviewed
WaitDonated-dog program paused due to wait time; owner-train available
Verified2026-09-02

America’s VetDogs

New York · United States
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo charge for dog/training; organization traditionally covers program expenses
WaitVaries by program/match; not clearly published on current eligibility page reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Dogs of the West

New Mexico · New Mexico plus some out-of-state placements; diabetic alert and seizure response limited to New Mexico
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostAutism/mobility/veteran PTSD: $10,000 in-state / $13,500 out-of-state; diabetic/seizure $17,500 NM only; facility/courthouse/crisis-response $20,000. Scholarships may be available.
WaitAverage 1–3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Believet Canine Service Partners

Minnesota · Training in Northfield, Minnesota; client must complete substantial in-person training
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published in current result
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Bergin College of Canine Studies

California · United States / team training now at Canyonville, Oregon campus
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published on current request page reviewed
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Big Paws Canine

South Dakota · 13-county South Dakota area around Hartford/Sioux Falls and southeast/east-central SD
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostService dogs described as $1 through fundraising/donations; $12 annual membership for unlimited dog/handler training
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Brigadoon Service Dogs

Washington · Washington, Oregon, Idaho, British Columbia
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee (waived for veterans); historically asks non-veterans to fundraise $10,000; travel/lodging responsibility
WaitAdmissions process ~4–8 months plus match wait; current pool reported ~12 clients in early 2026
Verified2026-09-02

California Service Dog Academy

California · California / provider-defined service area
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Companions

California · United States; regional training centers
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Diabetic Alert · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dogs and follow-up services provided at no charge; applicant responsible for personal travel/incidental expenses
WaitVaries by program and match; not stated as one current universal wait
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Support Teams

California · Applicants may be out of area, but team training is in Murrieta, California
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeterans: dog/application fees waived; civilians: $100 application; outside certification starts around $3,000; $150 annual recertification
WaitTypically within 1 year; can be up to 2 years
Verified2026-09-02

Canines With a Cause

Utah · Classes in Holladay/Salt Lake County; may serve Davis, Weber, Morgan, much of Summit, Wasatch, Utah and Tooele counties depending on trainer availability
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostFree to clients; veteran pays ongoing dog-care costs
WaitTrainer/dog availability dependent
Verified2026-09-02

Canines for Change

Michigan · Michigan and surrounding region
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement fee discussed during intake; true cost over $25,000; fundraising guidance provided
WaitSeveral months to over a year after approval depending match
Verified2026-09-02

Canines for Service

North Carolina · United States; program based in North Carolina
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published in current application page reviewed
WaitAverage approximately 2 years after approval
Verified2026-09-02

Clear Path for Veterans

New York · Chittenango, New York program; geographic restrictions not clearly stated on application page
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNo client service-dog fee found on current program pages; confirm with provider
Wait6–12 month program journey once qualified; match timing varies
Verified2026-09-02

Dog Tag Buddies

Montana · Montana, northern Wyoming, western North Dakota/South Dakota and eastern Idaho
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to veteran
WaitProgram/training process approximately 18–24 months; matching timing varies
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs Inc.

Florida · United States
ADI Accredited · IGDF AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs, training, housing, equipment and most meals provided at no cost; recipient covers ongoing general/veterinary expenses not provided
WaitVaries by program/match; not a single current wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs and Tags of Wyoming

Wyoming · Wyoming / Cheyenne-based
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostProgram exists to reduce/cover typical high service-dog costs; exact participant fee not publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs for Life, Inc.

Florida · Florida / Vero Beach region; broader placement details unclear
Not verified in current passContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostPublished 2026 cost model estimates ~$17,860 over program/recertification for client-owned dog and ~$35,255 for a DFL-placed dog; actual assistance/subsidy should be confirmed
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

ECAD / Educated Canines Assisting with Disabilities

Connecticut · United States; requires travel to Connecticut
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFundraising contribution required; exact candidate commitment is individualized/not clearly published. Full organizational investment exceeds $100,000 per dog.
WaitAverage 18–24 months from candidate acceptance to graduation
Verified2026-09-02

Faithfully K9 Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado Front Range / Denver metro and foothills; clients must attend within service area
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCivilian sessions published around $85/hour plus evaluation/background costs; veterans/active-duty/first responders may receive subsidized/no-cost services depending on eligibility
WaitTraining commonly 7–12+ months; minimum roughly 6 months
Verified2026-09-02

Fidos for Freedom

Maryland · Within 75 miles of Laurel, Maryland
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent 211 Maryland listing describes free/no-cost service; application fee exists but amount not found in current page
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Dogs

California · Southern California
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree programs
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Guide Dogs for the Blind

New York · Eastern U.S. for general applicants; veterans may live anywhere in U.S.
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge; handler responsible for ongoing dog care (~$900–$1,200/year published estimate)
WaitMatch-dependent; not publicly quoted
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Service Dogs of America

Colorado · United States, with required travel to Colorado
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostDogs and training provided at no cost; clients pay travel and ongoing dog-care expenses
WaitPublished wait around 2.5 years once on waitlist
Verified2026-09-02

Give Us Paws

Texas · Greater Houston within about 1 hour of 77080; San Antonio hybrid virtual/in-person program
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostTypically $3,500–$7,500; veterans may receive free/subsidized training if funding available; civilian subsidy may be available based on income
WaitProgram length typically 8–12 months; enrollment/funding timing varies
Verified2026-09-02

Got Your Six Support Dogs

Illinois · Continental United States; required travel to Maryville, Illinois
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog, training, therapeutic programs, hotel and most meals at no cost; applicant covers transportation and some meals/incidentals
WaitCurrently approximately 1–2 years
Verified2026-09-02

Guardian Angels Medical Service Dogs

Florida · Multi-state U.S.; paired recipients in 33 states as of Jan. 2026
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$70 application fee; service dog provided at no cost
WaitVaries; organization states it tries to keep wait under one year in most cases
Verified2026-09-02

Guide Dogs of America / Tender Loving Canines

California · Guide-dog program broad; service-dog program subject to program criteria
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostAll services free of charge
WaitGuide dog: generally 6–12 months; service dog: can be as long as 3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Hearts of Gold Service Dogs

West Virginia · Applicants must live within 100 driving miles of Morgantown, WV
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog free; no fundraising required; handler must support ongoing care (~$2,500/year)
WaitAt least ~1 year from application to placement; may be longer
Verified2026-09-02

Helping Paws

Minnesota · Minnesota / regional requirements apply
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; placement cost/subsidy varies by program and nonprofit support
WaitNot clearly published in current pages
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Dogs

Maryland · Mid-Atlantic / travel to Maryland required; exact residency criteria vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo application fee and no charge for dog/training; recipient pays transport and future dog ownership costs
WaitWaitlist varies; full application phase typically takes 4–6 months once invited
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Pups

New Hampshire · New England only
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge
WaitMatch-based, not first-come-first-served; fully trained dog pathway has a longer wait
Verified2026-09-02

Honoring America’s Warriors

Oklahoma · Oklahoma only
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost; includes dog, training, equipment, food and veterinary care
WaitPriority based on medical severity and service history; exact wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

Indiana Canine Assistant Network (ICAN)

Indiana · Indiana / regional; exact out-of-state eligibility varies
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published in current pass
WaitNot clearly published; matching depends on trained-dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

Joybound People & Pets Shelter to Service

California · Must reside within about two hours of Walnut Creek, CA for psychiatric service dog program
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeterans/servicemembers: no cost; civilian pricing not found in reviewed pages
WaitApplication response generally within about one week; placement/training wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

K9 Elite

Wyoming · Lovell, Wyoming / contact for service area
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated; site emphasizes lower-cost placements for veterans/first responders
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

K9 Partners for Patriots

Florida · Training in Brooksville, Florida; out-of-state veterans may participate if able to attend
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo cost for dog, training or required equipment
WaitApplicants can begin soon after acceptance/capacity; no long published placement wait because teams train together
Verified2026-09-02

K9s For Warriors

Florida · All 50 states plus Puerto Rico and Guam
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo financial cost for service dog, housing, meals, equipment or training; veteran generally handles travel
WaitApproximately 18–24 months
Verified2026-09-02

Knowledge Point Network

Texas · Montgomery, Texas / contact for service area
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Leashes for Living

Illinois · Illinois / contact for current service radius
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing · Other Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Liberty Dogs

Nevada · U.S. veterans; training campus in Reno, Nevada
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost for eligible veterans
WaitTypically about 12–18 months
Verified2026-09-02

Little Angels Service Dogs

California · United States; training/placement facilities in CA, NH and TX
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostPlacement: $75 application + $500 deposit; recipient fundraising/fee target published at about $21,500. Owner-training has separate lesson/testing fees.
WaitVaries; matching follows fundraising/acceptance and available dogs
Verified2026-09-02

Maine Paws for Veterans

Maine · Maine / in-person training
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo cost to the veteran
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Mutts With A Mission

Virginia · United States; annual application cycle and training relationship with Virginia-based organization
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge beyond $300 non-refundable application fee
WaitApproximately 2 years from acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

Operation Delta Dog

New Hampshire · Local/regional New Hampshire; published eligible-community list around Hollis/Nashua/Manchester area
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to veteran
WaitLengthy wait list currently disclosed; training itself takes 12–18 months
Verified2026-09-02

Operation Freedom Paws USA

California · California-based; current official/community sources describe broader disability eligibility; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to client
WaitProgram commitment minimum 48 weeks; intake/wait not publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Operation at Ease

New York · New York-based; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostFree
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Patriot Assistance Dogs

Minnesota · Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa and Wisconsin
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Patriot PAWS Service Dogs

Texas · All 50 U.S. states
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to accepted veteran; veteran pays travel to/from Rockwall training facility
WaitApproximately 24–30 months per current FAQ; application page also notes 12–24 months, so timing is variable
Verified2026-09-02

Patriot Service Dogs

Florida · United States / program based in Ocala, Florida
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostProgram is donor-supported; exact recipient fee not clearly stated in source reviewed
WaitApplications reviewed quarterly; match timing varies
Verified2026-09-02

Paws Assisting Veterans (PAVE)

Oregon · Oregon / broader veteran placements should be confirmed
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo recipient cost indicated by program; organization states each dog costs it about $42,000 to raise/train/support
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Paws and Stripes

New Mexico · New Mexico / frequent Albuquerque-area participation required
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNo-cost services to veterans
WaitGrant/application windows; no fixed current wait
Verified2026-09-02

Paws for Purple Hearts

Alaska · Nationwide applications; regional training centers across Northwest, Southwest, South Central and Southeast
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo recipient fee found in current application materials reviewed
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Pawsitive for Heroes

New York · New York / broader area not clearly published
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Other Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Pawsitivity Service Dogs

Minnesota · United States / organization based in Minnesota
Not verified as ADI/IGDFOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to veteran
WaitNo waitlist; placement opportunities announced when a dog is ready
Verified2026-09-02

Power Paws Assistance Dogs

Arizona · Arizona-based; applicant service-area details should be confirmed during application
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostLegacy placement document lists $9,000 plus $75 application fee; verify current fee before publishing exact amount
WaitApproximately 12–16 months to identify a match after application acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

Project Kenny

US · United States; team training takes place in Wyoming
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost for dog, training or placement; veteran responsible for travel and ongoing dog care. Organization may help with hotel when possible.
WaitMatch-focused; no fixed current timeline published
Verified2026-09-02

Puppies Behind Bars

New York · United States; team training in upstate New York
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostProgram covers service dog and team-training costs; for first responders it explicitly covers hotel, transportation and meals during 14-day training
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Puppy Jake Foundation

Iowa · Iowa-based; applicant residency limitations not clearly stated
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog free; $250 application fee at second phase (assistance may be available)
WaitConsiderable/variable; applications reviewed 2–3 times yearly and matched as dogs become available
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Freedom

Iowa · United States; Iowa and Missouri facilities
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided at no charge; $30 background-check fee at initial application
WaitVaries by program/match; not one fixed wait
Verified2026-09-02

Semper K9 Assistance Dogs

Virginia · Nationwide placement; maintenance-training pathway limited to DMV/Northern Virginia travel area
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo application or service-dog fee; fundraising encouraged but not required. Handler responsible for ongoing dog care (~$1,200/year estimate).
WaitApproximately 18–24 months from approved application to receipt of dog
Verified2026-09-02

Service Canines of Montana

Montana · Montana; Laurel-based
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot published
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs Alabama

Alabama · Alabama; provider has multiple Alabama locations
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished applications show $10,000 service dog contribution; $6,000 facility or task-trained emotional support dog. Organization states full training cost is about $30,000.
WaitAbout 1–2 years (FAQ; may vary)
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs of Southern Nevada

Nevada · Southern Nevada
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostLittle or no cost; organization works to secure funding and provides applicant-specific fundraising page
WaitWaitlist; exact time not published
Verified2026-09-02

Soldier’s Best Friend

Arizona · Accepts eligible veterans nationally, but training is only in Arizona
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo placement/training fees; veteran pays transportation, housing if relocating, and normal dog-care costs
WaitApplication decision about 2–3 months after complete paperwork; dog matching can add time
Verified2026-09-02

South Dakota Service Dogs

South Dakota · South Dakota / regional
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNot clearly published
WaitProvider-supplied dog waits currently extended; owner-dog pathway can enter faster
Verified2026-09-02

Susquehanna Service Dogs

Pennsylvania · United States / Pennsylvania-based; exact geographic limits vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$5,000 fee-for-service; need-based scholarships can cover up to $4,200 for eligible Pennsylvania residents
WaitApproximately 3 years for assistance/hearing dog; other categories may be shorter
Verified2026-09-02

The Battle Buddy Foundation

California · United States; organizational locations in Ohio and California
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

The Dog Alliance

Texas · Texas; veteran pathway generally within driving reach of Cedar Park; civilian training varies
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeteran service-dog pathways free; civilian service-dog training starts around $10,000; scholarships may be available
WaitVaries by pathway/dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

The Joys of Living Assistance Dogs

Oregon · Oregon-based; historically OR/WA/ID/CA/NV and parts of Canada; owner-trained clients near program area
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent published third-party compilation: $155 application and about $17,000 civilian service-dog program; veterans reported no service-dog charge — verify current fee directly
WaitMatch-dependent; application review + interview; no reliable current average posted
Verified2026-09-02

The Rescue for PTSD

Colorado · Texas/Colorado; exact current radius not clearly published
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Therapetics Service Dogs of Oklahoma

Oklahoma · Oklahoma only
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published on current application page reviewed
WaitCurrently 2–3 years or more
Verified2026-09-02

This Able Veteran

Illinois · United States
Not verified in current passContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published in current source; nonprofit-funded
WaitApproximately 1–1.5 years after application approval
Verified2026-09-02

Top Dogg K-9 Foundation / VDOGS

Georgia · Georgia-based; geographic eligibility not clearly published
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostHistorically provided to veterans free of charge; confirm current terms
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Train A Dog – Save A Warrior (TADSAW)

Texas · United States via local TADSAW trainers / exact trainer availability varies
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Other Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to participant/family
WaitDepends on trainer/dog availability; no fixed national wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Valor Service Dogs

Florida · United States with required Florida training
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNonprofit placement; exact current recipient cost not published on page reviewed
WaitFacility-dog wait can be up to 2 years; veteran placement wait varies
Verified2026-09-02

Vermont Paws & Boots

Vermont · Vermont / Bennington-based
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostFree to program participants
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Victory Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado / regular weekly training required
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent detailed fee should be confirmed; recent/legacy application materials show modest application/evaluation fees rather than full training cost
WaitCan take up to about one year to be matched with a prospect; training itself may run 18–24 months
Verified2026-09-02

Walk Forward

Georgia · Greater Savannah, Georgia and Pensacola, Florida areas
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / contact organization
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Walking With Honor

New Hampshire · New England: New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts and Vermont
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to veteran
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Warrior Canine Connection

Maryland · United States; required team training in Maryland
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo fee for dog or training; clients cover airfare, accommodations and transportation, with some assistance potentially available
WaitAverage around 2 years; match-specific waits can vary
Verified2026-09-02

Warrior Freedom Service Dogs

Georgia · Georgia/Tennessee region; exact current residency restrictions should be confirmed
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo fundraising/public-relations participation required; exact recipient fee not clearly published
WaitCandidates move forward when a suitable dog is available; exact wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

Warriors Keep

Arkansas · Arkansas / in-person program
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Wyoming Assistance Pups

Wyoming · Wyoming / contact for remote/out-of-area services
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

About this list

Programs that serve veterans, including veteran-specific organizations and broader providers accepting veteran applicants. Inclusion is based on our current provider research. Always confirm the provider’s current eligibility rules and program availability before applying.