Free & Lower-Cost Service Dog Programs

Programs whose researched recipient cost is categorized as free/minimal or under $1,000. Always confirm current fees directly with the provider.

57Matching providers
29Applications open
43May provide dog
19Owner-training

Ability Dogs of Arizona

Arizona · Greater Tucson, Phoenix and Las Vegas; weekly commuting required
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostInitial consultation $30 Tucson / $50 Phoenix & Las Vegas; monthly $260 Tucson / $340 Phoenix & Las Vegas; certification test $250; matched dog purchase fee may also apply
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

America’s VetDogs

New York · United States
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo charge for dog/training; organization traditionally covers program expenses
WaitVaries by program/match; not clearly published on current eligibility page reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Dogs of Hawaii

Hawaii · Hawaii / program-specific
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog free of charge; $1,000 Team Training Camp fee plus recipient travel
WaitApplication 3–4 months; accepted applicants generally wait about 1–2 years, with FAQ noting average under 12 months
Verified2026-09-02

Atlas Assistance Dogs

Washington · Facilitator-dependent; program uses local in-person facilitators plus online courses
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
Cost$900 total standard program: $25 intake + $100 assessment + $650 training + $125 PAT; $75 annual recertification; financial aid available
WaitTraining minimum 6 months; ~9 months expected once accepted
Verified2026-09-02

Big Paws Canine

South Dakota · 13-county South Dakota area around Hartford/Sioux Falls and southeast/east-central SD
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostService dogs described as $1 through fundraising/donations; $12 annual membership for unlimited dog/handler training
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

C.H.A.M.P. Assistance Dogs

Missouri · Individual placements within 50 miles of Maryland Heights/St. Louis, Missouri; facility dogs generally within 250 miles
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement cost; $50 non-refundable application fee
WaitTypically about 2 years from application to placement
Verified2026-09-02

Can Do Canines

Minnesota · MN and WI for mobility/hearing/diabetes/seizure; autism currently MN only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge; $50 application fee
WaitVaries by program; autism wait can reach 3–4 years and autism applications are currently closed
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Assistants

Georgia · United States
Not verified as ADI in current passOpen / Available
ServicesSeizure · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge
WaitSeveral years; about 300 applicants reported on current FAQ
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Companions

California · United States; regional training centers
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Diabetic Alert · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dogs and follow-up services provided at no charge; applicant responsible for personal travel/incidental expenses
WaitVaries by program and match; not stated as one current universal wait
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Partners for Life

Pennsylvania · United States; recipient travels to Cochranville, Pennsylvania
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesFacility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo charge for CPL dog/services; recipient may have travel expenses
WaitService-dog waitlist currently closed; people already on it face roughly 5–7 years. Home companion ~1–3 years; facility companion ~1–2 years.
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Partners of the Rockies

Colorado · Colorado
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostMobility service dogs placed without a placement fee; $50 application fee. Facility-dog fees apply.
WaitApplication/matching process can take months; exact current wait varies
Verified2026-09-02

Canines With a Cause

Utah · Classes in Holladay/Salt Lake County; may serve Davis, Weber, Morgan, much of Summit, Wasatch, Utah and Tooele counties depending on trainer availability
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostFree to clients; veteran pays ongoing dog-care costs
WaitTrainer/dog availability dependent
Verified2026-09-02

Circle Tail

Ohio · Ohio/regional; multiple visits to Pleasant Plain training center required
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$25 non-refundable application fee; IAADP membership approximately $80 over first 3 years; placement fee not found
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Courteous Canine

Rhode Island · Rhode Island; in-home service area about 30 minutes from Wakefield
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent in-home pricing: initial consultation $222; 60-minute session $143.11; packages published. Service-dog total not separately published in source reviewed.
WaitSchedule availability
Verified2026-09-02

Faithfully K9 Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado Front Range / Denver metro and foothills; clients must attend within service area
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCivilian sessions published around $85/hour plus evaluation/background costs; veterans/active-duty/first responders may receive subsidized/no-cost services depending on eligibility
WaitTraining commonly 7–12+ months; minimum roughly 6 months
Verified2026-09-02

Fidos for Freedom

Maryland · Within 75 miles of Laurel, Maryland
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent 211 Maryland listing describes free/no-cost service; application fee exists but amount not found in current page
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Dogs

California · Southern California
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree programs
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Guide Dogs for the Blind

New York · Eastern U.S. for general applicants; veterans may live anywhere in U.S.
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge; handler responsible for ongoing dog care (~$900–$1,200/year published estimate)
WaitMatch-dependent; not publicly quoted
Verified2026-09-02

Give Us Paws

Texas · Greater Houston within about 1 hour of 77080; San Antonio hybrid virtual/in-person program
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostTypically $3,500–$7,500; veterans may receive free/subsidized training if funding available; civilian subsidy may be available based on income
WaitProgram length typically 8–12 months; enrollment/funding timing varies
Verified2026-09-02

Guardian Angels Medical Service Dogs

Florida · Multi-state U.S.; paired recipients in 33 states as of Jan. 2026
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$70 application fee; service dog provided at no cost
WaitVaries; organization states it tries to keep wait under one year in most cases
Verified2026-09-02

Guide Dogs for the Blind

California · United States and Canada
IGDF AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPrograms provided free of charge
WaitVaries based on matching; no single current wait published in source reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Guide Dogs of America / Tender Loving Canines

California · Guide-dog program broad; service-dog program subject to program criteria
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostAll services free of charge
WaitGuide dog: generally 6–12 months; service dog: can be as long as 3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Guiding Eyes for the Blind

New York · United States and Canada
IGDF AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostAll training/program services free; graduates responsible for routine dog expenses, with annual veterinary stipend provided
WaitVaries based on match; contact Admissions for current timing
Verified2026-09-02

Hearts of Gold Service Dogs

West Virginia · Applicants must live within 100 driving miles of Morgantown, WV
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog free; no fundraising required; handler must support ongoing care (~$2,500/year)
WaitAt least ~1 year from application to placement; may be longer
Verified2026-09-02

Helping Paws

Minnesota · Minnesota / regional requirements apply
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; placement cost/subsidy varies by program and nonprofit support
WaitNot clearly published in current pages
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Dogs

Maryland · Mid-Atlantic / travel to Maryland required; exact residency criteria vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo application fee and no charge for dog/training; recipient pays transport and future dog ownership costs
WaitWaitlist varies; full application phase typically takes 4–6 months once invited
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Pups

New Hampshire · New England only
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge
WaitMatch-based, not first-come-first-served; fully trained dog pathway has a longer wait
Verified2026-09-02

IOWA Service Dogs

Iowa · Iowa / regular training attendance required
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo application fee and no charge for service dog/training; recipient pays transportation and future dog-care costs
WaitVaries by need/date and available match; no fixed current wait
Verified2026-09-02

K9s 4 Mobility

Wyoming · Wyoming-based; placement geography contact provider
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
Cost$500 non-refundable deposit after acceptance; nominal donation requested; client pays trainer travel/lodging for in-home placement training
WaitApproximately 1–2 years for provider dog
Verified2026-09-02

Medi-Dogs

Wisconsin · U.S. nationwide via virtual coaching; in-person Madison/DeForest, WI
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostOwner-training lessons: $62.50 in-person / $55 virtual; other program costs vary; evaluation review $35
WaitTraining duration individualized; started dogs often graduate within ~6 months after placement; no started dogs currently available
Verified2026-09-02

MidAmerica Service Dogs Foundation

Illinois · Within about 50 miles of Hinsdale, Illinois / Chicagoland
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesMobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided free of charge
WaitLong process; no fixed current wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Mira USA

North Carolina · Contiguous United States
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge; Mira USA covers approximately $70,000 partnership cost including travel, lodging and month-long guide-dog school
WaitEvaluation process is described as lengthy; no fixed current placement time published
Verified2026-09-02

Mutts With A Mission

Virginia · United States; annual application cycle and training relationship with Virginia-based organization
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge beyond $300 non-refundable application fee
WaitApproximately 2 years from acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

New Horizons Service Dogs

Florida · Florida residents only
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Hearing · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; ongoing dog-care costs are recipient responsibility; placement/fundraising amount should be confirmed
WaitNot stated on current application page
Verified2026-09-02

Northern Indiana Service Dogs

Indiana · Northern Indiana / local and individualized
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Medical Alert
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
Cost$30 per 45-minute training session (published site rate; verify at booking)
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

OccuPaws Guide Dog Association

Wisconsin · Wisconsin and surrounding states
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge
WaitMatch/availability-dependent; not a fixed quoted period
Verified2026-09-02

Operation Freedom Paws USA

California · California-based; current official/community sources describe broader disability eligibility; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to client
WaitProgram commitment minimum 48 weeks; intake/wait not publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Operation at Ease

New York · New York-based; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostFree
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Paws Giving Independence

Illinois · Illinois; weekly Peoria training required
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement price found; applicants must be able to afford about $600–$800/year routine veterinary/grooming care
WaitNo estimate until accepted and in matching process
Verified2026-09-02

Paws for Life USA

Georgia · United States
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
Cost$25 application fee; training/equipment fees vary by program level
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Puppy Jake Foundation

Iowa · Iowa-based; applicant residency limitations not clearly stated
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog free; $250 application fee at second phase (assistance may be available)
WaitConsiderable/variable; applications reviewed 2–3 times yearly and matched as dogs become available
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Freedom

Iowa · United States; Iowa and Missouri facilities
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided at no charge; $30 background-check fee at initial application
WaitVaries by program/match; not one fixed wait
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Independence

Tennessee · United States / training camp in Nashville, Tennessee
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent application page states $200 application fee; other total recipient costs not clearly published
WaitWaitlist after approval; exact current wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dog Strong

Maine · Maine, greater Portland area
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostProgram free; $500 refundable deposit required at class start
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs, Inc.

Texas · Texas only
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog and lifetime follow-up free; $50 non-refundable application fee plus applicant/client travel and lodging; ongoing dog care estimated around $2,500/year
WaitNot clearly published on current apply page reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Skye’s Dog Training

Utah · West Jordan / Salt Lake-area Utah
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostService/therapy evaluation $125; psychiatric task class $195; service-dog public-access class $195; private follow-up $125/hour. Full program total varies.
WaitClasses scheduled by session/on demand
Verified2026-09-02

Summit Assistance Dogs

Washington · Western Washington, Oregon and Lower Mainland British Columbia (current application page); FAQ also references Idaho
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog free of charge; $100 application fee; client pays travel/lodging and ongoing care
WaitA few months to several years; other FAQ cites ~6 months to 2–5 years depending match
Verified2026-09-02

Sunrise Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado / program-specific
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Medical Alert
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
Cost$200 application fee; program investment varies by pathway; fundraising is encouraged/supported
WaitDepends on pathway, capacity and dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

Ten Eight Service Dogs

Wisconsin · Dane, Jefferson or Rock County, Wisconsin, or applicant willing to travel there
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
Cost$100 application fee; nonprofit subsidizes half of startup cost; already-owned dog evaluation adds $200; exact total client share not posted
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

The Dog Alliance

Texas · Texas; veteran pathway generally within driving reach of Cedar Park; civilian training varies
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeteran service-dog pathways free; civilian service-dog training starts around $10,000; scholarships may be available
WaitVaries by pathway/dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

The Hearing Dog Program

California · California and Montana
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$25 application processing fee; placement cost not found in reviewed page
WaitUsually about 2 years or more
Verified2026-09-02

The Seeing Eye

New Jersey · United States and Canada
IGDF AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$150 first dog; $50 successor dog; $1 for military veterans. Fee includes dog, equipment, instruction, room/board and U.S./Canada transportation.
WaitGenerally 6–12 months from acceptance to class; match dependent
Verified2026-09-02

Top Dogg K-9 Foundation / VDOGS

Georgia · Georgia-based; geographic eligibility not clearly published
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostHistorically provided to veterans free of charge; confirm current terms
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Train A Dog – Save A Warrior (TADSAW)

Texas · United States via local TADSAW trainers / exact trainer availability varies
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Other Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to participant/family
WaitDepends on trainer/dog availability; no fixed national wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Vermont Paws & Boots

Vermont · Vermont / Bennington-based
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostFree to program participants
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

White Mountain College for Pets

New Hampshire · New Hampshire
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostGeneral training prices published (e.g. some programs around $650); complete service-dog pathway price not found
WaitSchedule/class availability
Verified2026-09-02

About this list

Programs whose researched recipient cost is categorized as free/minimal or under $1,000. Always confirm current fees directly with the provider. Inclusion is based on our current provider research. Always confirm the provider’s current eligibility rules and program availability before applying.