Hearing Dogs Service Dog Programs

Programs training dogs to alert people who are Deaf or hard of hearing to important environmental sounds.

28Researched providers
9Applications open
19May provide dog
5Owner-training

Compare Hearing Dogs providers

Check eligibility, dog sourcing, cost, wait time and current application status.

Ability Dogs of Arizona

Arizona · Greater Tucson, Phoenix and Las Vegas; weekly commuting required
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostInitial consultation $30 Tucson / $50 Phoenix & Las Vegas; monthly $260 Tucson / $340 Phoenix & Las Vegas; certification test $250; matched dog purchase fee may also apply
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

All is Pawsible Service Dog School

Oregon · Portland, Oregon area
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Seizure · Medical Alert
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Dogs for Living

Missouri · Missouri
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Can Do Canines

Minnesota · MN and WI for mobility/hearing/diabetes/seizure; autism currently MN only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge; $50 application fee
WaitVaries by program; autism wait can reach 3–4 years and autism applications are currently closed
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Companions

California · United States; regional training centers
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Diabetic Alert · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dogs and follow-up services provided at no charge; applicant responsible for personal travel/incidental expenses
WaitVaries by program and match; not stated as one current universal wait
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Hearing Companions

New Jersey · New Jersey / contact for current coverage
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Circle Tail

Ohio · Ohio/regional; multiple visits to Pleasant Plain training center required
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$25 non-refundable application fee; IAADP membership approximately $80 over first 3 years; placement fee not found
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs for Better Lives

Massachusetts · United States; campuses in Oregon and Massachusetts
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostZero cost; no application fee or good-faith deposit
WaitVaries; facility dogs ideally within 36 months. Autism applications currently closed until Fall 2026.
Verified2026-09-02

Faithfully K9 Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado Front Range / Denver metro and foothills; clients must attend within service area
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCivilian sessions published around $85/hour plus evaluation/background costs; veterans/active-duty/first responders may receive subsidized/no-cost services depending on eligibility
WaitTraining commonly 7–12+ months; minimum roughly 6 months
Verified2026-09-02

Fidos for Freedom

Maryland · Within 75 miles of Laurel, Maryland
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent 211 Maryland listing describes free/no-cost service; application fee exists but amount not found in current page
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Genesis Service Dogs, Inc.

Idaho · Idaho / Boise-Meridian area; some dogs may transfer to other nonprofit programs nationally
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Guardian Angels Medical Service Dogs

Florida · Multi-state U.S.; paired recipients in 33 states as of Jan. 2026
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$70 application fee; service dog provided at no cost
WaitVaries; organization states it tries to keep wait under one year in most cases
Verified2026-09-02

Hawaii Fi-Do Service Dogs

Hawaii · Hawaii
Not verified in current passContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Hearing
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / contact organization
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Leashes for Living

Illinois · Illinois / contact for current service radius
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing · Other Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Little Angels Service Dogs

California · United States; training/placement facilities in CA, NH and TX
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostPlacement: $75 application + $500 deposit; recipient fundraising/fee target published at about $21,500. Owner-training has separate lesson/testing fees.
WaitVaries; matching follows fundraising/acceptance and available dogs
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

National Hearing Dog Center

Massachusetts · Massachusetts-based; older resources describe national/local placements
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

New Horizons Service Dogs

Florida · Florida residents only
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Hearing · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; ongoing dog-care costs are recipient responsibility; placement/fundraising amount should be confirmed
WaitNot stated on current application page
Verified2026-09-02

Paragon Service Dogs

Colorado · United States; owner-trained programs require Colorado proximity
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesHearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostProvider-trained hearing dogs placed at no cost. Owner-trained hearing: $200 evaluation + $2,500 Phase 2 + $1,500 Phase 3; ongoing Phase 4 no fee.
WaitProvider-trained hearing dog: typically 15–24 months after approval; application review can take months
Verified2026-09-02

Paws Assisting Veterans (PAVE)

Oregon · Oregon / broader veteran placements should be confirmed
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo recipient cost indicated by program; organization states each dog costs it about $42,000 to raise/train/support
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Paws With a Cause

Michigan · Areas served by PAWS field representatives; determined during application
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge commonly associated with PAWS; applicant responsible for ongoing dog care. Verify any current application fee directly.
WaitVaries by program and location
Verified2026-09-02

Service Canines of Montana

Montana · Montana; Laurel-based
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot published
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs, Inc.

Texas · Texas only
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog and lifetime follow-up free; $50 non-refundable application fee plus applicant/client travel and lodging; ongoing dog care estimated around $2,500/year
WaitNot clearly published on current apply page reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Susquehanna Service Dogs

Pennsylvania · United States / Pennsylvania-based; exact geographic limits vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$5,000 fee-for-service; need-based scholarships can cover up to $4,200 for eligible Pennsylvania residents
WaitApproximately 3 years for assistance/hearing dog; other categories may be shorter
Verified2026-09-02

The Hearing Dog Program

California · California and Montana
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$25 application processing fee; placement cost not found in reviewed page
WaitUsually about 2 years or more
Verified2026-09-02

The Sam Simon Foundation

California · California and Oregon residents
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to apply; services are fully funded
WaitSeveral months to 1+ year depending on match availability
Verified2026-09-02

What to compare

Do not choose a program based only on the service-dog category. Providers can differ on who they serve, whether they supply the dog, whether owner-training is allowed, geography, cost, travel and whether applications are currently open. Open the individual provider profiles for the researched details and source links.