Facility Dogs Service Dog Programs

Programs placing professionally trained facility dogs with qualified professionals in schools, healthcare, courts and similar settings.

51Researched providers
27Applications open
49May provide dog
12Owner-training

Compare Facility Dogs providers

Check eligibility, dog sourcing, cost, wait time and current application status.

Ability Dogs of Arizona

Arizona · Greater Tucson, Phoenix and Las Vegas; weekly commuting required
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostInitial consultation $30 Tucson / $50 Phoenix & Las Vegas; monthly $260 Tucson / $340 Phoenix & Las Vegas; certification test $250; matched dog purchase fee may also apply
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Alan’s K9 Academy

Georgia · Cartersville / greater Georgia region
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostCustom quote; academy cites a general six-week training program at $2,900, but service-dog pricing is individualized
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Canine Training Services (ACTS)

New Hampshire · Center Conway, New Hampshire / broader placements not yet confirmed
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Dogs of Hawaii

Hawaii · Hawaii / program-specific
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog free of charge; $1,000 Team Training Camp fee plus recipient travel
WaitApplication 3–4 months; accepted applicants generally wait about 1–2 years, with FAQ noting average under 12 months
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Dogs of the West

New Mexico · New Mexico plus some out-of-state placements; diabetic alert and seizure response limited to New Mexico
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostAutism/mobility/veteran PTSD: $10,000 in-state / $13,500 out-of-state; diabetic/seizure $17,500 NM only; facility/courthouse/crisis-response $20,000. Scholarships may be available.
WaitAverage 1–3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Bergin College of Canine Studies

California · United States / team training now at Canyonville, Oregon campus
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published on current request page reviewed
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Brigadoon Service Dogs

Washington · Washington, Oregon, Idaho, British Columbia
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee (waived for veterans); historically asks non-veterans to fundraise $10,000; travel/lodging responsibility
WaitAdmissions process ~4–8 months plus match wait; current pool reported ~12 clients in early 2026
Verified2026-09-02

C.H.A.M.P. Assistance Dogs

Missouri · Individual placements within 50 miles of Maryland Heights/St. Louis, Missouri; facility dogs generally within 250 miles
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement cost; $50 non-refundable application fee
WaitTypically about 2 years from application to placement
Verified2026-09-02

Can Do Canines

Minnesota · MN and WI for mobility/hearing/diabetes/seizure; autism currently MN only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge; $50 application fee
WaitVaries by program; autism wait can reach 3–4 years and autism applications are currently closed
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Assistants

Georgia · United States
Not verified as ADI in current passOpen / Available
ServicesSeizure · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge
WaitSeveral years; about 300 applicants reported on current FAQ
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Companions

California · United States; regional training centers
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Diabetic Alert · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dogs and follow-up services provided at no charge; applicant responsible for personal travel/incidental expenses
WaitVaries by program and match; not stated as one current universal wait
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Partners for Life

Pennsylvania · United States; recipient travels to Cochranville, Pennsylvania
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesFacility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo charge for CPL dog/services; recipient may have travel expenses
WaitService-dog waitlist currently closed; people already on it face roughly 5–7 years. Home companion ~1–3 years; facility companion ~1–2 years.
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Partners of the Rockies

Colorado · Colorado
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostMobility service dogs placed without a placement fee; $50 application fee. Facility-dog fees apply.
WaitApplication/matching process can take months; exact current wait varies
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Support Teams

California · Applicants may be out of area, but team training is in Murrieta, California
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeterans: dog/application fees waived; civilians: $100 application; outside certification starts around $3,000; $150 annual recertification
WaitTypically within 1 year; can be up to 2 years
Verified2026-09-02

Canines for Change

Michigan · Michigan and surrounding region
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement fee discussed during intake; true cost over $25,000; fundraising guidance provided
WaitSeveral months to over a year after approval depending match
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs Inc.

Florida · United States
ADI Accredited · IGDF AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs, training, housing, equipment and most meals provided at no cost; recipient covers ongoing general/veterinary expenses not provided
WaitVaries by program/match; not a single current wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs for Better Lives

Massachusetts · United States; campuses in Oregon and Massachusetts
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostZero cost; no application fee or good-faith deposit
WaitVaries; facility dogs ideally within 36 months. Autism applications currently closed until Fall 2026.
Verified2026-09-02

ECAD / Educated Canines Assisting with Disabilities

Connecticut · United States; requires travel to Connecticut
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFundraising contribution required; exact candidate commitment is individualized/not clearly published. Full organizational investment exceeds $100,000 per dog.
WaitAverage 18–24 months from candidate acceptance to graduation
Verified2026-09-02

Eyes Ears Nose and Paws

North Carolina · North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina; case-by-case beyond
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure · Medical Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement/training fees vary by program; current fundraising pages show individual placement goals around $12,000–$15,000; confirm current fee schedule
WaitOften match-dependent; external 2024 resource estimated ~6–12 months for seizure program
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Service Dogs of America

Colorado · United States, with required travel to Colorado
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostDogs and training provided at no cost; clients pay travel and ongoing dog-care expenses
WaitPublished wait around 2.5 years once on waitlist
Verified2026-09-02

Good Dog! Service Canines

California · Primarily U.S. families able to complete required program/travel; exact geographic limits need confirmation
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$200 application fee; $32,000 fee-for-service or fundraising target for full-service placement
WaitTypical wait approximately 36 months after fee/fundraising requirement is met
Verified2026-09-02

Guide Dogs of America / Tender Loving Canines

California · Guide-dog program broad; service-dog program subject to program criteria
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostAll services free of charge
WaitGuide dog: generally 6–12 months; service dog: can be as long as 3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Dogs

Maryland · Mid-Atlantic / travel to Maryland required; exact residency criteria vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo application fee and no charge for dog/training; recipient pays transport and future dog ownership costs
WaitWaitlist varies; full application phase typically takes 4–6 months once invited
Verified2026-09-02

Indiana Canine Assistant Network (ICAN)

Indiana · Indiana / regional; exact out-of-state eligibility varies
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published in current pass
WaitNot clearly published; matching depends on trained-dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

Joybound People & Pets Shelter to Service

California · Must reside within about two hours of Walnut Creek, CA for psychiatric service dog program
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeterans/servicemembers: no cost; civilian pricing not found in reviewed pages
WaitApplication response generally within about one week; placement/training wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

K9s 4 Mobility

Wyoming · Wyoming-based; placement geography contact provider
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
Cost$500 non-refundable deposit after acceptance; nominal donation requested; client pays trainer travel/lodging for in-home placement training
WaitApproximately 1–2 years for provider dog
Verified2026-09-02

KSDS Assistance Dogs

Kansas · United States; training in Washington, Kansas
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostRoom/board during team training provided; exact recipient placement fee not found in current pages
WaitService dog 2+ years; facility 2–3 years; guide dog roughly 3–5 years depending current page
Verified2026-09-02

Mobility Service Dogs

Illinois · Illinois; contact for exact boundaries
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNo fee reported by current regional resource; confirm directly
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

New Horizons Service Dogs

Florida · Florida residents only
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Hearing · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; ongoing dog-care costs are recipient responsibility; placement/fundraising amount should be confirmed
WaitNot stated on current application page
Verified2026-09-02

North Star Foundation

Connecticut · Primarily regional/in-home collaborative placements; exact geographic limit determined case by case
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostFull public-access placement true cost $15,000; therapeutic/facility $10,000. Families are asked to raise/pay half of true cost.
WaitNot stated as a fixed current number
Verified2026-09-02

Palmetto Animal Assisted Life Services (PAALS)

South Carolina · South Carolina / regional; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$7,500 tuition for assistance-dog team training; fundraising permitted; organization reports actual dog cost near $60,000
WaitHigh application volume; exact wait not publicly fixed
Verified2026-09-02

Paragon Service Dogs

Colorado · United States; owner-trained programs require Colorado proximity
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesHearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostProvider-trained hearing dogs placed at no cost. Owner-trained hearing: $200 evaluation + $2,500 Phase 2 + $1,500 Phase 3; ongoing Phase 4 no fee.
WaitProvider-trained hearing dog: typically 15–24 months after approval; application review can take months
Verified2026-09-02

Patriot PAWS Service Dogs

Texas · All 50 U.S. states
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to accepted veteran; veteran pays travel to/from Rockwall training facility
WaitApproximately 24–30 months per current FAQ; application page also notes 12–24 months, so timing is variable
Verified2026-09-02

Paws Giving Independence

Illinois · Illinois; weekly Peoria training required
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement price found; applicants must be able to afford about $600–$800/year routine veterinary/grooming care
WaitNo estimate until accepted and in matching process
Verified2026-09-02

Paws for Life USA

Georgia · United States
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
Cost$25 application fee; training/equipment fees vary by program level
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Paws for Purple Hearts

Alaska · Nationwide applications; regional training centers across Northwest, Southwest, South Central and Southeast
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo recipient fee found in current application materials reviewed
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Power Paws Assistance Dogs

Arizona · Arizona-based; applicant service-area details should be confirmed during application
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostLegacy placement document lists $9,000 plus $75 application fee; verify current fee before publishing exact amount
WaitApproximately 12–16 months to identify a match after application acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

Prison Pet Partnership

Washington · Washington State
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published on current placement page
WaitAvailability/match-dependent; not quoted
Verified2026-09-02

Puppies Behind Bars

New York · United States; team training in upstate New York
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostProgram covers service dog and team-training costs; for first responders it explicitly covers hotel, transportation and meals during 14-day training
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Freedom

Iowa · United States; Iowa and Missouri facilities
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided at no charge; $30 background-check fee at initial application
WaitVaries by program/match; not one fixed wait
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Independence

Tennessee · United States / training camp in Nashville, Tennessee
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent application page states $200 application fee; other total recipient costs not clearly published
WaitWaitlist after approval; exact current wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs Alabama

Alabama · Alabama; provider has multiple Alabama locations
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished applications show $10,000 service dog contribution; $6,000 facility or task-trained emotional support dog. Organization states full training cost is about $30,000.
WaitAbout 1–2 years (FAQ; may vary)
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs of Virginia

Virginia · Virginia residents only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Medical Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; $1,000 transfer/team-camp fee; applicant must budget ongoing dog care (~$2,285/year published estimate)
WaitApproximately 2–3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Specialty Dog Training

California · San Diego/Oceanside, CA; remote/out-of-area clients accepted with travel arrangements
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostHigh-cost private programs; pre-trained Level 3 dogs published around $20,000–$28,000 excluding purchase/medical costs; other program pricing varies
WaitVaries by program/availability
Verified2026-09-02

Susquehanna Service Dogs

Pennsylvania · United States / Pennsylvania-based; exact geographic limits vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$5,000 fee-for-service; need-based scholarships can cover up to $4,200 for eligible Pennsylvania residents
WaitApproximately 3 years for assistance/hearing dog; other categories may be shorter
Verified2026-09-02

The Joys of Living Assistance Dogs

Oregon · Oregon-based; historically OR/WA/ID/CA/NV and parts of Canada; owner-trained clients near program area
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent published third-party compilation: $155 application and about $17,000 civilian service-dog program; veterans reported no service-dog charge — verify current fee directly
WaitMatch-dependent; application review + interview; no reliable current average posted
Verified2026-09-02

UDS Service Dogs Program

Pennsylvania · Lancaster, PA region; program requires recurring in-person participation and serves a multi-state driving radius
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent public reporting places client charge around $5,000; $25 application fee appears on application materials; verify current exact payment schedule
WaitUp to ~3 years; up to ~4 years for balance/stability needs; some request categories currently paused
Verified2026-09-02

Valor Service Dogs

Florida · United States with required Florida training
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNonprofit placement; exact current recipient cost not published on page reviewed
WaitFacility-dog wait can be up to 2 years; veteran placement wait varies
Verified2026-09-02

Warrior Canine Connection

Maryland · United States; required team training in Maryland
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo fee for dog or training; clients cover airfare, accommodations and transportation, with some assistance potentially available
WaitAverage around 2 years; match-specific waits can vary
Verified2026-09-02

paws4people

North Carolina · United States; headquarters/training in Wilmington, North Carolina
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostDog itself is not charged; service-dog clients pay room, board and tuition during campus training. Fundraising/payment options are provided.
WaitNo conventional waitlist; rolling selection. Initial application decisions often within 4–6 weeks, with placement timing based on suitable dogs.
Verified2026-09-02

What to compare

Do not choose a program based only on the service-dog category. Providers can differ on who they serve, whether they supply the dog, whether owner-training is allowed, geography, cost, travel and whether applications are currently open. Open the individual provider profiles for the researched details and source links.