Autism Service Dog Programs

Programs supporting autistic children or adults with individually trained service dogs and related family/team training.

23Researched providers
10Applications open
21May provide dog
3Owner-training

Compare Autism providers

Check eligibility, dog sourcing, cost, wait time and current application status.

4 Paws for Ability

Ohio · United States / applicants travel to Ohio for team training
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Seizure · Medical Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished fee-for-service $20,000; additional $3,000 for doodle/poodle/papillon placements when applicable. Fundraising commonly used.
WaitApproximately 2 years after fee-for-service completion, including breeding/raising/training
Verified2026-09-02

ASA Service Dogs

Florida · Florida / out-of-area details not clearly published
Not verified as ADI/IGDFOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Seizure · Medical Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$40 application fee; trained assistance-dog program fees approximately $10,000–$28,000 based on needs
WaitCustomized estimate provided after application; training may take 6 months to 2 years
Verified2026-09-02

BluePath Service Dogs

New York · Within 2-hour drive of Carmel, New York headquarters
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesAutism
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement fee not found in current application materials; families responsible for ongoing dog care, typically over $1,000/year
WaitApproximately 9 months to 2 years after acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

Can Do Canines

Minnesota · MN and WI for mobility/hearing/diabetes/seizure; autism currently MN only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge; $50 application fee
WaitVaries by program; autism wait can reach 3–4 years and autism applications are currently closed
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs for Better Lives

Massachusetts · United States; campuses in Oregon and Massachusetts
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostZero cost; no application fee or good-faith deposit
WaitVaries; facility dogs ideally within 36 months. Autism applications currently closed until Fall 2026.
Verified2026-09-02

DogsInVests

Wisconsin · Within 50 miles of Palmyra, Wisconsin
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; $10,000 family fee ($5,000 at orientation + $5,000 90 days after training starts)
WaitNo standing waitlist; applications taken as dogs near readiness
Verified2026-09-02

ECAD / Educated Canines Assisting with Disabilities

Connecticut · United States; requires travel to Connecticut
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFundraising contribution required; exact candidate commitment is individualized/not clearly published. Full organizational investment exceeds $100,000 per dog.
WaitAverage 18–24 months from candidate acceptance to graduation
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Service Dogs of America

Colorado · United States, with required travel to Colorado
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostDogs and training provided at no cost; clients pay travel and ongoing dog-care expenses
WaitPublished wait around 2.5 years once on waitlist
Verified2026-09-02

Good Dog! Service Canines

California · Primarily U.S. families able to complete required program/travel; exact geographic limits need confirmation
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$200 application fee; $32,000 fee-for-service or fundraising target for full-service placement
WaitTypical wait approximately 36 months after fee/fundraising requirement is met
Verified2026-09-02

Guide Dogs of America / Tender Loving Canines

California · Guide-dog program broad; service-dog program subject to program criteria
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostAll services free of charge
WaitGuide dog: generally 6–12 months; service dog: can be as long as 3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Little Angels Service Dogs

California · United States; training/placement facilities in CA, NH and TX
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostPlacement: $75 application + $500 deposit; recipient fundraising/fee target published at about $21,500. Owner-training has separate lesson/testing fees.
WaitVaries; matching follows fundraising/acceptance and available dogs
Verified2026-09-02

Medi-Dogs

Wisconsin · U.S. nationwide via virtual coaching; in-person Madison/DeForest, WI
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostOwner-training lessons: $62.50 in-person / $55 virtual; other program costs vary; evaluation review $35
WaitTraining duration individualized; started dogs often graduate within ~6 months after placement; no started dogs currently available
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

New Horizons Service Dogs

Florida · Florida residents only
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Hearing · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; ongoing dog-care costs are recipient responsibility; placement/fundraising amount should be confirmed
WaitNot stated on current application page
Verified2026-09-02

North Star Foundation

Connecticut · Primarily regional/in-home collaborative placements; exact geographic limit determined case by case
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostFull public-access placement true cost $15,000; therapeutic/facility $10,000. Families are asked to raise/pay half of true cost.
WaitNot stated as a fixed current number
Verified2026-09-02

Palmetto Animal Assisted Life Services (PAALS)

South Carolina · South Carolina / regional; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$7,500 tuition for assistance-dog team training; fundraising permitted; organization reports actual dog cost near $60,000
WaitHigh application volume; exact wait not publicly fixed
Verified2026-09-02

Paws With a Cause

Michigan · Areas served by PAWS field representatives; determined during application
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge commonly associated with PAWS; applicant responsible for ongoing dog care. Verify any current application fee directly.
WaitVaries by program and location
Verified2026-09-02

Paws with Purpose

Kentucky · Within 50 miles of Louisville, Kentucky
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 full application fee + $2,500 placement fee; recipient should budget $2,500–$4,300/year for dog care
WaitNot published / matching and training dependent
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Freedom

Iowa · United States; Iowa and Missouri facilities
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided at no charge; $30 background-check fee at initial application
WaitVaries by program/match; not one fixed wait
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs Alabama

Alabama · Alabama; provider has multiple Alabama locations
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished applications show $10,000 service dog contribution; $6,000 facility or task-trained emotional support dog. Organization states full training cost is about $30,000.
WaitAbout 1–2 years (FAQ; may vary)
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs of Virginia

Virginia · Virginia residents only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Medical Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; $1,000 transfer/team-camp fee; applicant must budget ongoing dog care (~$2,285/year published estimate)
WaitApproximately 2–3 years
Verified2026-09-02

UDS Service Dogs Program

Pennsylvania · Lancaster, PA region; program requires recurring in-person participation and serves a multi-state driving radius
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent public reporting places client charge around $5,000; $25 application fee appears on application materials; verify current exact payment schedule
WaitUp to ~3 years; up to ~4 years for balance/stability needs; some request categories currently paused
Verified2026-09-02

What to compare

Do not choose a program based only on the service-dog category. Providers can differ on who they serve, whether they supply the dog, whether owner-training is allowed, geography, cost, travel and whether applications are currently open. Open the individual provider profiles for the researched details and source links.