Service Dog Programs for First Responders

Programs that specifically identify first responders among the populations they serve.

26Matching providers
12Applications open
19May provide dog
8Owner-training

America’s VetDogs

New York · United States
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo charge for dog/training; organization traditionally covers program expenses
WaitVaries by program/match; not clearly published on current eligibility page reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Big Paws Canine

South Dakota · 13-county South Dakota area around Hartford/Sioux Falls and southeast/east-central SD
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostService dogs described as $1 through fundraising/donations; $12 annual membership for unlimited dog/handler training
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Blue Ridge Assistance Dogs

Virginia · Virginia, DC, Maryland (published directory area)
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Seizure
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNo
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Faithfully K9 Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado Front Range / Denver metro and foothills; clients must attend within service area
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCivilian sessions published around $85/hour plus evaluation/background costs; veterans/active-duty/first responders may receive subsidized/no-cost services depending on eligibility
WaitTraining commonly 7–12+ months; minimum roughly 6 months
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Service Dogs of America

Colorado · United States, with required travel to Colorado
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostDogs and training provided at no cost; clients pay travel and ongoing dog-care expenses
WaitPublished wait around 2.5 years once on waitlist
Verified2026-09-02

Got Your Six Support Dogs

Illinois · Continental United States; required travel to Maryville, Illinois
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog, training, therapeutic programs, hotel and most meals at no cost; applicant covers transportation and some meals/incidentals
WaitCurrently approximately 1–2 years
Verified2026-09-02

Guardian Angels Medical Service Dogs

Florida · Multi-state U.S.; paired recipients in 33 states as of Jan. 2026
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$70 application fee; service dog provided at no cost
WaitVaries; organization states it tries to keep wait under one year in most cases
Verified2026-09-02

Helping Paws

Minnesota · Minnesota / regional requirements apply
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; placement cost/subsidy varies by program and nonprofit support
WaitNot clearly published in current pages
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Dogs

Maryland · Mid-Atlantic / travel to Maryland required; exact residency criteria vary
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo application fee and no charge for dog/training; recipient pays transport and future dog ownership costs
WaitWaitlist varies; full application phase typically takes 4–6 months once invited
Verified2026-09-02

Hero Pups

New Hampshire · New England only
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge
WaitMatch-based, not first-come-first-served; fully trained dog pathway has a longer wait
Verified2026-09-02

K9 Elite

Wyoming · Lovell, Wyoming / contact for service area
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated; site emphasizes lower-cost placements for veterans/first responders
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Knowledge Point Network

Texas · Montgomery, Texas / contact for service area
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Midwest Assistance Dogs, Inc.

Indiana · South Bend / Indiana; current service radius not clearly published
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Mutts With A Mission

Virginia · United States; annual application cycle and training relationship with Virginia-based organization
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge beyond $300 non-refundable application fee
WaitApproximately 2 years from acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

National Institute of Canine Service and Training (NICST)

California · California-based; exact current placement geography should be confirmed
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesDiabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs and core services provided at no cost according to current FAQ
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Operation Freedom Paws USA

California · California-based; current official/community sources describe broader disability eligibility; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to client
WaitProgram commitment minimum 48 weeks; intake/wait not publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Operation at Ease

New York · New York-based; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostFree
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Patriot PAWS Service Dogs

Texas · All 50 U.S. states
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost to accepted veteran; veteran pays travel to/from Rockwall training facility
WaitApproximately 24–30 months per current FAQ; application page also notes 12–24 months, so timing is variable
Verified2026-09-02

Puppies Behind Bars

New York · United States; team training in upstate New York
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostProgram covers service dog and team-training costs; for first responders it explicitly covers hotel, transportation and meals during 14-day training
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs Alabama

Alabama · Alabama; provider has multiple Alabama locations
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished applications show $10,000 service dog contribution; $6,000 facility or task-trained emotional support dog. Organization states full training cost is about $30,000.
WaitAbout 1–2 years (FAQ; may vary)
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs of Southern Nevada

Nevada · Southern Nevada
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostLittle or no cost; organization works to secure funding and provides applicant-specific fundraising page
WaitWaitlist; exact time not published
Verified2026-09-02

South Dakota Service Dogs

South Dakota · South Dakota / regional
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNot clearly published
WaitProvider-supplied dog waits currently extended; owner-dog pathway can enter faster
Verified2026-09-02

The Joys of Living Assistance Dogs

Oregon · Oregon-based; historically OR/WA/ID/CA/NV and parts of Canada; owner-trained clients near program area
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent published third-party compilation: $155 application and about $17,000 civilian service-dog program; veterans reported no service-dog charge — verify current fee directly
WaitMatch-dependent; application review + interview; no reliable current average posted
Verified2026-09-02

Therapetics Service Dogs of Oklahoma

Oklahoma · Oklahoma only
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published on current application page reviewed
WaitCurrently 2–3 years or more
Verified2026-09-02

Vermont Paws & Boots

Vermont · Vermont / Bennington-based
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostFree to program participants
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Victory Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado / regular weekly training required
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent detailed fee should be confirmed; recent/legacy application materials show modest application/evaluation fees rather than full training cost
WaitCan take up to about one year to be matched with a prospect; training itself may run 18–24 months
Verified2026-09-02

About this list

Programs that specifically identify first responders among the populations they serve. Inclusion is based on our current provider research. Always confirm the provider’s current eligibility rules and program availability before applying.