Service Dog Programs for Civilians

Programs that accept civilian applicants and are not limited exclusively to military or first-responder populations.

51Matching providers
18Applications open
31May provide dog
24Owner-training

Alan’s K9 Academy

Georgia · Cartersville / greater Georgia region
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostCustom quote; academy cites a general six-week training program at $2,900, but service-dog pricing is individualized
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Atlas Assistance Dogs

Washington · Facilitator-dependent; program uses local in-person facilitators plus online courses
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
Cost$900 total standard program: $25 intake + $100 assessment + $650 training + $125 PAT; $75 annual recertification; financial aid available
WaitTraining minimum 6 months; ~9 months expected once accepted
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Partners for Life

Pennsylvania · United States; recipient travels to Cochranville, Pennsylvania
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesFacility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo charge for CPL dog/services; recipient may have travel expenses
WaitService-dog waitlist currently closed; people already on it face roughly 5–7 years. Home companion ~1–3 years; facility companion ~1–2 years.
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Support Teams

California · Applicants may be out of area, but team training is in Murrieta, California
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeterans: dog/application fees waived; civilians: $100 application; outside certification starts around $3,000; $150 annual recertification
WaitTypically within 1 year; can be up to 2 years
Verified2026-09-02

Circle Tail

Ohio · Ohio/regional; multiple visits to Pleasant Plain training center required
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$25 non-refundable application fee; IAADP membership approximately $80 over first 3 years; placement fee not found
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Courteous Canine

Rhode Island · Rhode Island; in-home service area about 30 minutes from Wakefield
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent in-home pricing: initial consultation $222; 60-minute session $143.11; packages published. Service-dog total not separately published in source reviewed.
WaitSchedule availability
Verified2026-09-02

FETCH

Texas · Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas-centered; contact for eligibility geography
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot publicly stated; nonprofit fundraising supports dogs and post-placement transition
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Faithfully K9 Service Dogs

Colorado · Colorado Front Range / Denver metro and foothills; clients must attend within service area
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCivilian sessions published around $85/hour plus evaluation/background costs; veterans/active-duty/first responders may receive subsidized/no-cost services depending on eligibility
WaitTraining commonly 7–12+ months; minimum roughly 6 months
Verified2026-09-02

Freedom Dogs

California · Southern California
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree programs
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Give Us Paws

Texas · Greater Houston within about 1 hour of 77080; San Antonio hybrid virtual/in-person program
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostTypically $3,500–$7,500; veterans may receive free/subsidized training if funding available; civilian subsidy may be available based on income
WaitProgram length typically 8–12 months; enrollment/funding timing varies
Verified2026-09-02

Golden Opportunities for Independence

Massachusetts · Within 25 miles of Walpole, Massachusetts
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot found in current page
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Guardian Angels Medical Service Dogs

Florida · Multi-state U.S.; paired recipients in 33 states as of Jan. 2026
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$70 application fee; service dog provided at no cost
WaitVaries; organization states it tries to keep wait under one year in most cases
Verified2026-09-02

Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind

New York · United States / broader eligibility should be confirmed with admissions
IGDF AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo cost; Foundation covers training, campus stay and travel to/from Smithtown
WaitAverage 9–18 months after acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

Halo Dog Training

California · California and Oregon
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Medical Alert
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostNot published / contact provider
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Hawaii Fi-Do Service Dogs

Hawaii · Hawaii
Not verified in current passContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Hearing
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / contact organization
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

IOWA Service Dogs

Iowa · Iowa / regular training attendance required
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo application fee and no charge for service dog/training; recipient pays transportation and future dog-care costs
WaitVaries by need/date and available match; no fixed current wait
Verified2026-09-02

K9 Genius Training Co.

Louisiana · Hammond, Louisiana / regional
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostNot published / evaluation and coaching packages
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

K9 Paws Behavior Dog Training

Arizona · Mohave County / tri-state Arizona area; in-home training offered
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostNot published on reviewed service-dog pages
WaitNot applicable / private trainer scheduling
Verified2026-09-02

K9s For Warriors

Florida · All 50 states plus Puerto Rico and Guam
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo financial cost for service dog, housing, meals, equipment or training; veteran generally handles travel
WaitApproximately 18–24 months
Verified2026-09-02

Karosel Kennels – Service Dog Training

Montana · Missoula and Frenchtown, Montana
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Seizure
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostCall for pricing
WaitCall for schedule availability
Verified2026-09-02

Little Angels Service Dogs

California · United States; training/placement facilities in CA, NH and TX
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostPlacement: $75 application + $500 deposit; recipient fundraising/fee target published at about $21,500. Owner-training has separate lesson/testing fees.
WaitVaries; matching follows fundraising/acceptance and available dogs
Verified2026-09-02

Love Dog Inc.

Florida · Treasure Coast / Palm City, Florida; out-of-area clients accepted with travel expenses
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostCustom quote after evaluation; general training programs are published separately, but service-dog total is not fixed
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Michael’s Angel Paws

Nevada · Las Vegas, Nevada / virtual coaching options
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostBase tuition $5,000 ($1,000 x 5 modules) plus possible specialized/extension fees; $75 non-refundable application fee
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

New Horizons Service Dogs

Florida · Florida residents only
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Hearing · Guide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; ongoing dog-care costs are recipient responsibility; placement/fundraising amount should be confirmed
WaitNot stated on current application page
Verified2026-09-02

Northeast Canine

New Hampshire · Based in South Hampton, New Hampshire; exact broader placement geography not clearly stated
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published
WaitExtended wait possible; demand exceeds available dogs and organization does not quote a fixed time
Verified2026-09-02

Operation Freedom Paws USA

California · California-based; current official/community sources describe broader disability eligibility; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to client
WaitProgram commitment minimum 48 weeks; intake/wait not publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Paws Giving Independence

Illinois · Illinois; weekly Peoria training required
Not verified in current passOpen / Available
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement price found; applicants must be able to afford about $600–$800/year routine veterinary/grooming care
WaitNo estimate until accepted and in matching process
Verified2026-09-02

Paws With a Cause

Michigan · Areas served by PAWS field representatives; determined during application
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge commonly associated with PAWS; applicant responsible for ongoing dog care. Verify any current application fee directly.
WaitVaries by program and location
Verified2026-09-02

Paws as Loving Support Assistance Dogs

California · Sonoma, Napa, Mendocino, Marin, Santa Clara and Santa Cruz counties
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Paws for Life USA

Georgia · United States
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
Cost$25 application fee; training/equipment fees vary by program level
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Pawsitive Difference LLC

Idaho · Coeur d'Alene, Idaho area
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostCustom package; in-house payment arrangements available
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Power Paws Assistance Dogs

Arizona · Arizona-based; applicant service-area details should be confirmed during application
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostLegacy placement document lists $9,000 plus $75 application fee; verify current fee before publishing exact amount
WaitApproximately 12–16 months to identify a match after application acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

Prescott K9 Academy

Arizona · Local/regional Arizona; may sell trained dogs more broadly
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostContact for pricing
WaitAvailability varies
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Independence

Tennessee · United States / training camp in Nashville, Tennessee
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesFacility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent application page states $200 application fee; other total recipient costs not clearly published
WaitWaitlist after approval; exact current wait not published
Verified2026-09-02

Saint Francis Service Dogs

Virginia · Virginia/regional; exact geographic eligibility should be checked before applying
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitWaitlist capped at 20; currently at capacity
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dog Strong

Maine · Maine, greater Portland area
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostProgram free; $500 refundable deposit required at class start
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs Alabama

Alabama · Alabama; provider has multiple Alabama locations
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished applications show $10,000 service dog contribution; $6,000 facility or task-trained emotional support dog. Organization states full training cost is about $30,000.
WaitAbout 1–2 years (FAQ; may vary)
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs for America

North Dakota · United States; campus in Jud, North Dakota
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / not yet found
WaitNot published / not yet found
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs of Virginia

Virginia · Virginia residents only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Medical Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; $1,000 transfer/team-camp fee; applicant must budget ongoing dog care (~$2,285/year published estimate)
WaitApproximately 2–3 years
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs, Inc.

Texas · Texas only
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog and lifetime follow-up free; $50 non-refundable application fee plus applicant/client travel and lodging; ongoing dog care estimated around $2,500/year
WaitNot clearly published on current apply page reviewed
Verified2026-09-02

Sit Service Dogs

Illinois · Based in Ava, Illinois; placements appear to include out-of-state clients
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent official total not clearly published. Recent recipient fundraising references roughly $20,000–$25,000; verify directly before publishing an exact current fee.
WaitNot clearly published currently
Verified2026-09-02

Skye’s Dog Training

Utah · West Jordan / Salt Lake-area Utah
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostService/therapy evaluation $125; psychiatric task class $195; service-dog public-access class $195; private follow-up $125/hour. Full program total varies.
WaitClasses scheduled by session/on demand
Verified2026-09-02

Specialty Dog Training

California · San Diego/Oceanside, CA; remote/out-of-area clients accepted with travel arrangements
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostHigh-cost private programs; pre-trained Level 3 dogs published around $20,000–$28,000 excluding purchase/medical costs; other program pricing varies
WaitVaries by program/availability
Verified2026-09-02

The Dog Alliance

Texas · Texas; veteran pathway generally within driving reach of Cedar Park; civilian training varies
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostVeteran service-dog pathways free; civilian service-dog training starts around $10,000; scholarships may be available
WaitVaries by pathway/dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

The Hearing Dog Program

California · California and Montana
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesHearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$25 application processing fee; placement cost not found in reviewed page
WaitUsually about 2 years or more
Verified2026-09-02

The International K9 Foundation

Mississippi · Summit, Mississippi; accepts out-of-area clients according to business materials
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostService-dog training advertised around $3,600; evaluation $45. Other programs vary.
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

The Joys of Living Assistance Dogs

Oregon · Oregon-based; historically OR/WA/ID/CA/NV and parts of Canada; owner-trained clients near program area
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostCurrent published third-party compilation: $155 application and about $17,000 civilian service-dog program; veterans reported no service-dog charge — verify current fee directly
WaitMatch-dependent; application review + interview; no reliable current average posted
Verified2026-09-02

Walk Forward

Georgia · Greater Savannah, Georgia and Pensacola, Florida areas
Not verified as ADI/IGDFContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingNo
CostNot published / contact organization
WaitNot published
Verified2026-09-02

White Mountain College for Pets

New Hampshire · New Hampshire
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostGeneral training prices published (e.g. some programs around $650); complete service-dog pathway price not found
WaitSchedule/class availability
Verified2026-09-02

Wyoming Assistance Pups

Wyoming · Wyoming / contact for remote/out-of-area services
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

About this list

Programs that accept civilian applicants and are not limited exclusively to military or first-responder populations. Inclusion is based on our current provider research. Always confirm the provider’s current eligibility rules and program availability before applying.