Service Dog Programs for Children

Programs that accept children or families applying on behalf of a child.

34Matching providers
15Applications open
32May provide dog
6Owner-training

4 Paws for Ability

Ohio · United States / applicants travel to Ohio for team training
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Seizure · Medical Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished fee-for-service $20,000; additional $3,000 for doodle/poodle/papillon placements when applicable. Fundraising commonly used.
WaitApproximately 2 years after fee-for-service completion, including breeding/raising/training
Verified2026-09-02

Assistance Dogs of Hawaii

Hawaii · Hawaii / program-specific
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDog free of charge; $1,000 Team Training Camp fee plus recipient travel
WaitApplication 3–4 months; accepted applicants generally wait about 1–2 years, with FAQ noting average under 12 months
Verified2026-09-02

Bergin College of Canine Studies

California · United States / team training now at Canyonville, Oregon campus
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published on current request page reviewed
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

BluePath Service Dogs

New York · Within 2-hour drive of Carmel, New York headquarters
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesAutism
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement fee not found in current application materials; families responsible for ongoing dog care, typically over $1,000/year
WaitApproximately 9 months to 2 years after acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

C.H.A.M.P. Assistance Dogs

Missouri · Individual placements within 50 miles of Maryland Heights/St. Louis, Missouri; facility dogs generally within 250 miles
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement cost; $50 non-refundable application fee
WaitTypically about 2 years from application to placement
Verified2026-09-02

Can Do Canines

Minnesota · MN and WI for mobility/hearing/diabetes/seizure; autism currently MN only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge; $50 application fee
WaitVaries by program; autism wait can reach 3–4 years and autism applications are currently closed
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Assistants

Georgia · United States
Not verified as ADI in current passOpen / Available
ServicesSeizure · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs placed free of charge
WaitSeveral years; about 300 applicants reported on current FAQ
Verified2026-09-02

Canine Companions

California · United States; regional training centers
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Diabetic Alert · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dogs and follow-up services provided at no charge; applicant responsible for personal travel/incidental expenses
WaitVaries by program and match; not stated as one current universal wait
Verified2026-09-02

Canines for Change

Michigan · Michigan and surrounding region
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement fee discussed during intake; true cost over $25,000; fundraising guidance provided
WaitSeveral months to over a year after approval depending match
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs Inc.

Florida · United States
ADI Accredited · IGDF AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Guide · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostDogs, training, housing, equipment and most meals provided at no cost; recipient covers ongoing general/veterinary expenses not provided
WaitVaries by program/match; not a single current wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Dogs for Better Lives

Massachusetts · United States; campuses in Oregon and Massachusetts
Not verifiedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Hearing · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostZero cost; no application fee or good-faith deposit
WaitVaries; facility dogs ideally within 36 months. Autism applications currently closed until Fall 2026.
Verified2026-09-02

DogsInVests

Wisconsin · Within 50 miles of Palmyra, Wisconsin
Not verifiedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$50 application fee; $10,000 family fee ($5,000 at orientation + $5,000 90 days after training starts)
WaitNo standing waitlist; applications taken as dogs near readiness
Verified2026-09-02

ECAD / Educated Canines Assisting with Disabilities

Connecticut · United States; requires travel to Connecticut
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFundraising contribution required; exact candidate commitment is individualized/not clearly published. Full organizational investment exceeds $100,000 per dog.
WaitAverage 18–24 months from candidate acceptance to graduation
Verified2026-09-02

Eyes Ears Nose and Paws

North Carolina · North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina; case-by-case beyond
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure · Medical Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPlacement/training fees vary by program; current fundraising pages show individual placement goals around $12,000–$15,000; confirm current fee schedule
WaitOften match-dependent; external 2024 resource estimated ~6–12 months for seizure program
Verified2026-09-02

Genesis Service Dogs, Inc.

Idaho · Idaho / Boise-Meridian area; some dogs may transfer to other nonprofit programs nationally
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesMobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published
WaitNot clearly published
Verified2026-09-02

Good Dog! Service Canines

California · Primarily U.S. families able to complete required program/travel; exact geographic limits need confirmation
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$200 application fee; $32,000 fee-for-service or fundraising target for full-service placement
WaitTypical wait approximately 36 months after fee/fundraising requirement is met
Verified2026-09-02

Indiana Canine Assistant Network (ICAN)

Indiana · Indiana / regional; exact out-of-state eligibility varies
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesMobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNot clearly published in current pass
WaitNot clearly published; matching depends on trained-dog availability
Verified2026-09-02

K-9 Capers Dog Training Academy

US · Local/regional to K-9 Capers; exact geographic limits should be confirmed
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedNo
Owner trainingYes
CostNot clearly published for complete service-dog pathway
WaitClass/trainer availability
Verified2026-09-02

Little Angels Service Dogs

California · United States; training/placement facilities in CA, NH and TX
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostPlacement: $75 application + $500 deposit; recipient fundraising/fee target published at about $21,500. Owner-training has separate lesson/testing fees.
WaitVaries; matching follows fundraising/acceptance and available dogs
Verified2026-09-02

Medical Mutts Service Dogs

Indiana · United States; in-person training in Indianapolis
ADI CandidateOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostFully trained service dogs typically $15,000–$25,000 after scholarship; $120 interview. Lower-cost owner/in-home programs available.
WaitFully trained program generally 12–24 months; current pages also cite ~6–18 months depending on match
Verified2026-09-02

MidAmerica Service Dogs Foundation

Illinois · Within about 50 miles of Hinsdale, Illinois / Chicagoland
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesMobility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided free of charge
WaitLong process; no fixed current wait published
Verified2026-09-02

Mira USA

North Carolina · Contiguous United States
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesGuide
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostFree of charge; Mira USA covers approximately $70,000 partnership cost including travel, lodging and month-long guide-dog school
WaitEvaluation process is described as lengthy; no fixed current placement time published
Verified2026-09-02

NEADS Service Dogs

Massachusetts · United States; required training in Massachusetts
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Hearing
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostVeterans receive service dogs at no charge; other programs use fundraising/client contribution model—current exact amount should be checked by program
WaitAverage can be 1–4 years after acceptance; veteran prequalifier cites up to 48 months
Verified2026-09-02

North Star Foundation

Connecticut · Primarily regional/in-home collaborative placements; exact geographic limit determined case by case
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNot publicly listed
CostFull public-access placement true cost $15,000; therapeutic/facility $10,000. Families are asked to raise/pay half of true cost.
WaitNot stated as a fixed current number
Verified2026-09-02

Operation Freedom Paws USA

California · California-based; current official/community sources describe broader disability eligibility; contact for geographic eligibility
ADI CandidateContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostNo charge to client
WaitProgram commitment minimum 48 weeks; intake/wait not publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

Paws With a Cause

Michigan · Areas served by PAWS field representatives; determined during application
ADI AccreditedContact / Verify
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostNo placement/training charge commonly associated with PAWS; applicant responsible for ongoing dog care. Verify any current application fee directly.
WaitVaries by program and location
Verified2026-09-02

Paws with Purpose

Kentucky · Within 50 miles of Louisville, Kentucky
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Seizure
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 full application fee + $2,500 placement fee; recipient should budget $2,500–$4,300/year for dog care
WaitNot published / matching and training dependent
Verified2026-09-02

Power Paws Assistance Dogs

Arizona · Arizona-based; applicant service-area details should be confirmed during application
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Mobility · Diabetic Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostLegacy placement document lists $9,000 plus $75 application fee; verify current fee before publishing exact amount
WaitApproximately 12–16 months to identify a match after application acceptance
Verified2026-09-02

Retrieving Freedom

Iowa · United States; Iowa and Missouri facilities
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesAutism · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostService dog provided at no charge; $30 background-check fee at initial application
WaitVaries by program/match; not one fixed wait
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs Alabama

Alabama · Alabama; provider has multiple Alabama locations
ADI AccreditedOpen / Available
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Autism · Mobility · Diabetic Alert
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostPublished applications show $10,000 service dog contribution; $6,000 facility or task-trained emotional support dog. Organization states full training cost is about $30,000.
WaitAbout 1–2 years (FAQ; may vary)
Verified2026-09-02

Service Dogs of Virginia

Virginia · Virginia residents only
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Medical Alert · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
Cost$100 application fee; $1,000 transfer/team-camp fee; applicant must budget ongoing dog care (~$2,285/year published estimate)
WaitApproximately 2–3 years
Verified2026-09-02

UDS Service Dogs Program

Pennsylvania · Lancaster, PA region; program requires recurring in-person participation and serves a multi-state driving radius
ADI AccreditedClosed / Paused
ServicesAutism · Mobility · Facility
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingNo
CostCurrent public reporting places client charge around $5,000; $25 application fee appears on application materials; verify current exact payment schedule
WaitUp to ~3 years; up to ~4 years for balance/stability needs; some request categories currently paused
Verified2026-09-02

Wyoming Assistance Pups

Wyoming · Wyoming / contact for remote/out-of-area services
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesOther Medical
Dog providedNot publicly listed
Owner trainingYes
CostNot publicly stated
WaitNot publicly stated
Verified2026-09-02

paws4people

North Carolina · United States; headquarters/training in Wilmington, North Carolina
Not verifiedContact / Verify
ServicesPTSD / Psychiatric · Facility · Other Medical
Dog providedYes
Owner trainingYes
CostDog itself is not charged; service-dog clients pay room, board and tuition during campus training. Fundraising/payment options are provided.
WaitNo conventional waitlist; rolling selection. Initial application decisions often within 4–6 weeks, with placement timing based on suitable dogs.
Verified2026-09-02

About this list

Programs that accept children or families applying on behalf of a child. Inclusion is based on our current provider research. Always confirm the provider’s current eligibility rules and program availability before applying.